Real Wedding | Hayley + Jayden





Tell us a little about yourselves!



We've been together since high school (11 years) so this has been a long time coming! Jayden is a Train Driver and Hayley is a Salon Manager and Hairstylist. We live in regional Victoria with our fur babies (who got a lot of mentions in the ceremony) and we love a quiet night in with some Netflix, as much as we love a night out or entertaining our friends. We've travelled a lot together including a stint living in Canada in 2018. We're very easy going and don't like to make a fuss about much, hence the elopement!




Why did you decide to get married where you did?




When we decided to elope, we thought we better go all out and do it somewhere really special. When the NZ bubble opened we knew that was the perfect place. It's an ode to the mountains (and great memories from Canada) and a bit easier to explain an elopement if we took off overseas!




Tell us about your outfits.




I am incredibly indecisive however, when I knew we were having a winter wedding, I narrowed my search down to two top and skirt combinations which both had a statement long sleeve. I wanted to love my choice forever and also needed it to obviously be weather appropriate. I ended up picking the Lola Varma set, had it made for me and it was the only outfit I ever tried on. I found the suit on Depop separately. I wear an oversized mens blazer most days so it felt very fitting to do a suit for the evening. Because we were travelling over from Australia, we thought it would be easier to hire Jays suit from Omen Suit Hire. We wanted something really suave that he wouldn't usually wear and that went with our vintage style theme.




What was the most important aspect for you, in terms of planning your wedding?




That it be easy and stress free and that it felt like us! We were really having trouble connecting with a big wedding and it just felt like such a relief when we chose to elope. The Lovers Elopement Co were incredible. They took care of all the stress and planned all of the little details that would've overwhelmed us.




Were there any elements that were important for you to incorporate?




Because we weren't having any guests attend the videography from Woven Images was probably the most important part for us - and it has since been one of the most special things to look forward to after the wedding!




Any tips for couples getting married, particularly during the pandemic?




I think one of the biggest things is working out who really needs to be there. For some people that's no one and for others that might still be a big wedding. However, it's so important that the day is truly about you not about everyone else.




Are there any vendors that you would like to tell us a little more about?




Just a huge shoutout and thank you to The Lovers Elopement Co again, they brought our vision together so beautifully with no worry or stress on our end! Also Jacks Retreat! We wouldn't have found them if it weren't for Dawn and Gypsy however, it was truly the most amazing place both for our ceremony and trip away!



























































Photographer : Dawn Thomson @dawnthomsonphoto | Videographer : Emily Liddicoat from Woven Images @wovenimages | Ceremony Location : Jacks Retreat @jacksretreat | Reception Location : Jacks Retreat /The Grille @ Eichardts @thegrillebyeichardts | Celebrant : Charlotte Winkel @yourbigdayqt | Planner : The Lovers Elopement Co @theloverselopementco | Flora : Gypsy West at The Vase Queenstown @thevasequeenstown | Makeup : Juliet at Jet Makeup Artist @jetmakeupartist | Hair : Claire Topliff at Beautiful Bridal Bar @beautifulbridalhair | Catering + Beverages : Jacks Retreat @jacksretreat | Cake : Sophie Rosanna Cakes @sophieroseannacakes | Stationery : Smitten with Love @_smittenwithlove | Car : Molly the Mustang @murraystirling | Hayley's Outfit : Lola Varma @lola.varma.bridal | Jayden' Suit : Omen Suit Hire @omen.suit.hire | Rings : Macchia Jewellery @macchiajewellery | Shoes : Alias Mae @aliasmae | Earrings : Christie Nicolaides @christienicolaides | Hayleys Suit : Depop