top of page

Real Wedding | Sami & Sam




Tell us a little about yourselves!



We’re Sam and Sami, we met on Bumble around six years ago and on the first Sunday in March we got married and celebrated love with our favourite people and beloved dog, Mana.



Why did you decide to get married where you did?



Initially we were considering getting married in Europe, but having our closest family and friends in attendance was too important. Siglo Bar was the perfect local venue for us with an epic European shared menu, an amazing wine list and incredible views of our favourite city, Melbourne.



How many guests did you have?


80.



What was your budget?



Eeek, life’s too short for budgets, we went well over what we expected though (around $50-$60k all in all I’d guess).



Tell us about your outfits.



I knew I wanted something short and I came across this amazing mini by Hobart based designer Frahn Bridal. I flew there with a girlfriend, tried it on and instantly fell in love - a classic mini with just the right amount of drama with the bow! I picked the blue Christian Louboutin pumps out a few days before (which matched my bouquet!) and completed the look with a headband birdcage veil by Magnolia Ave.


Sam’s suit was custom Oscar Hunt.



What was the most important aspect for you, in terms of planning your wedding?



We wanted to do something low-key that felt like “us” – centred around good food, cocktails, wines, vibes and views, with all our favourite people.


Finding the right vendors was important and we were so lucky to secure Siglo Bar for our reception venue and that our fabulous photographer Mandy Wood Studio was available that day too to capture it so well.



Were there any elements that were important for you to incorporate?



As a nod to Sam’s Greek heritage we incorporated a traditional Greek crowning in the ceremony - the crowns representing us becoming king and queen of our own family. Sam’s mum was our celebrant, and my mum performed the crown ritual - we loved sharing this moment with our mums!


Having it in the Fitzroy Gardens meant we could have our dog Mana there to celebrate too, which was important for us!


To make it feel more “us” we opted for espresso martinis over dessert, no official bridal party and no first dance, rather an open invite to kick off the dancefloor. 



Any tips for couples getting married?



Work out what’s important to you both as a couple and don’t worry about everyone’s opinions (easier said than done)! We wrote our vows together, which was a really beautiful process and helped us with nerves on the day.



















































Photographer: Mandy Wood Studio @mandywood.studio | Ceremony Location: Fitzroy Gardens, Melbourne | Reception Location: Siglo Bar @siglobar via @springstreetevents | Celebrant: Sam's Mother | Entertainment: Brooklyn via Hey Jack @heyjack_co | Hire: Weddings of Distinction @weddingsofdistinction | Ceremony Space: Old Bandstand, Fitzroy Gardens | Flora: Urban Antidote @urbanantidote | HMUA: Nat Ridler via The Creative Directory @natridler via @thecreativedirectory | Catering + Beverages: Tartine @tartine_bistro | Stationery: The Invitation Lab @theinvitationlab | Wedding Dress: Frahn Bridal @frahnbridal | Suit: Oscar Hunt @oscarhunttailors | Wedding Rings: Unique Diamonds @uniquediamondsaus | Shoes: Christian Louboutin @louboutinworld | Headpiece: Magnolia Ave @magnolia_ave



Comments


bottom of page