Real Wedding | Christine + Wade



Tell us a little about yourselves!


Wade is a graphic designer born in NY and Christine is in the fashion industry from California. We met in NY through a mutual friend and through our love of the arts, music and culture. We dated for almost a decade before getting married.

















Why did you decide to get married where you did?


Through lots of back and forth, we decided to get married in our favorite beach town, Laguna Beach. There’s the most beautiful cove under the boutique hotel, Hotel Joaquin. For the safety of the family, we decided to rent out the entire hotel. It was the best decision as we had the entire place for ourselves and our sixteen guests - and the most beautiful scenery. Photographer duo The Mango Market captured our day.


















Tell us about your outfits.


We had two outfits, one more casual and another dressed up. Wade’s outfit was handed down and tailored from Christine’s father, beautifully tailored Lanvin suit paired back with his Saturdays NYC tee and Common Projects sneakers. Our second outfit was paired back so well together, his custom suit with Christine’s Monique L'huillier custom dress. We wanted this outfit to be modern and classic, an ode to our NY roots.

Because our guest count was so small and everything was more intimate, we wanted to ensure we felt like ourselves and not too “done up” and still casual.













What was the most important aspect for you, in terms of planning your wedding?


The ultimate most important during that time was safety of Christine’s family. We weren’t able to invite any of our friends nor Wade’s family and we missed them so dearly! We also didn’t do anything virtual as we didn’t want to take away from the ceremony itself. We were so lucky to have the hotel to ourselves and relax in our safe environment. The second most important was to curate the day for ourselves. Since our guest count was so small, we were able to spend most of the day to ourselves enjoying each other’s company. We had a rehearsal dinner and spent a couple of days celebrating with our guests and had the help of our planner Ashley Smith Events. Sophia Moreno-Bunge from Isa Isa Floral created the most stunning tablescapes and ceremony space for both our rehearsal and wedding dinners as well as our ceremony.







Were there any elements that were important for you to incorporate?


It was important to incorporate our NY and cultural roots. We are also very much into spatial design so everything looking in tune with the hotel. Our gifts were wrapped beautifully by a traditional Korean gift wrapper Nossi andi nside we

had little bits of NY from our NYC Baggu bags to our favorite local chocolates.


Any tips for couples getting married, particularly during Covid?


Our biggest tip is to stay grounded in what’s important to you both. We decided early on that it was the safety of our friends and family. We had to sacrifice our guest count and budget for the covid tests.

















Ceremony and Reception Location : Hotel Joaquin @hoteljoaquin | Photographer and Videographer : The Mango Market @themangomarket | Planner : Ashley Smith Events @ashleysmithevents | Flora : Sophia Moreno-Bunge @isaisafloral | Catering + Beverages : Hotel Joaquin @hoteljoaquin | Cake : Eat Piece @eat_piece | Stationery : Goods Gang @goodsgang | Pressed Floral Cookies : Loria Stern @loriasternshop | Bride's Dress : Monique L'huillier @moniquelhuillier | Rings : Catbird NYC @catbirdnyc | Shoes : Jimmy Choo @jimmychoo | Second Dress : Shona Joy @shonajoy | Jewellery : Mejuri @mejuri | Second Outfit Shoes : Saint Laurent @ysl | Veils : A.B Ellie @a.b.ellie + Harriette Gordon @harriettegordon | Groom's Suit : Lavin @lavin | Groom's Shirt : Saturdays NYC @saturdaysnyc | Groom's Shoes : Common Projects @commonprojects | Gifts : wrapped by Nossi @nossibojagi containing Baggu @baggu bags + local chocolates