top of page

Real Wedding | Ana + Alex





Why did you decide to get married where you did?



I used to spend my weekends in Portugal while living in Madrid. It’s one of my favorite places in the world, and I knew the architecture and colorful culture would set a gorgeous and organic backdrop for our wedding. Alex also has Portuguese heritage that we wanted to pay tribute to. The venue, Quinta do Torneiro, provided the intimate setting we were hoping for.



How many guests did you have?



50.



Tell us about your outfits.



Alex had his suit custom-made by Tom James. I chose a classic Justin Alexander gown with high-set shoulders for a bit of drama. We both wanted to feel beautiful and comfortable and also have some flexibility since we didn’t know what to expect weather-wise in November.


My accessories were some of my favorite design aspects of the day, from classic blue Manolo’s my sister gifted me to match the blue Portuguese tile, to two separate veil looks, and an oversized Loeffler Randal bow for my reception look. 



What was the most important aspect for you, in terms of planning your wedding?



Ensuring we would be surrounded by the people we love most. We were legally married at a courthouse several months before celebrating in Portugal and therefore had had the opportunity to celebrate our commitment to being life-partners. We wanted Portugal to be a celebration of all of the love in our lives.



Were there any elements that were important for you to incorporate? 



We wanted to ensure we had plenty of time with all of our guests. Your wedding day goes by so quickly - we were intent on spending time with every single guest who flew across the world to celebrate with us.



Any tips for couples getting married?



My sister (who is a phenomenal wedding photographer and creative director) told me “If you don’t have any plans or expectations nothing can go wrong.” We knew we had hired a stellar team and trusted that they would bring our vision to life. While we of course had hopes for the aesthetic and feel of our wedding day, we didn’t have concrete expectations of any one aspect. This helped us relax when it came to worrying about all of the little details. What matters most is the love you share and the people who will be present to celebrate you.


I can’t stress this enough: hire a team of professionals you trust deeply, provide them with an overall feel and vision for your day, and then give them the creative freedom to curate the specifics. 



Are there any vendors that you would like to tell us a little more about?



Our photographers Kelly Mour assisted by Lexie Hand and videographer Abby Bostian were indispensable parts of our wedding day, not only for the heirlooms they created for us, but for the experience they provided from start to finish. 


The Lisbon Wedding Planner team was also a superb company to work with. They have extensive relationships with vendors in Portugal who executed our vision beautifully.











































Photographer: Kelly Mour @kellymour__ assisted by Lexie Hand @lexiehand | Videographer:

Abby Bostian @abbybostianvisuals | Ceremony + Reception Location: Quinta do Torneiro

@quintadotorneiro | Celebrant: Personal Friend | Styling: Kelly Mour @kellymour__ | Planner + Flora:

Lisbon Wedding Planner @lisbonweddingplanner | Makeup: Patz Hair @patzhair.makeup | Catering, Beverages + Cake: Casa do Marques @casa.do.marques | Ceremony Dress: Justin Alexander from Charlottes Weddings in Portland, OR @justinalexander | Wedding Veils: Mi Bridal Veil (Mantilla) + Which Goose (Floral) | Suit: Tom James | Engagement Ring: Malka Diamonds @malkadiamonds | Wedding Rings: Brilliant Earth | Shoes: Manolo Blahnik @manoloblahnik | Reception Bow: Loeffler Randal @loefflerrandal | Reception Dress: Nadine Merabi @nadinemerabi

Comments


bottom of page