Santa Monica




Inspired by the iconic architecture of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel this wedding editorial brings a modern take on coastal tropical. Influenced by the California lifestyle of farmers' markets, sunny beach days, and tall palm trees, this shoot was designed to inspire the modern couple that wants to stay away from traditions and enjoy the magic of every detail.


Designed by Moon Velvet and captured by Alex Mari, the images take you through the unique spaces of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel,while recreating a wedding day filled with candid moments and a relaxed atmosphere.



The vision was to create an organic design that didn't compete with the space but complemented its varying textures and modern shapes. The team used earthy tones and natural elements paired with warm greens and soft yellows. Florals by The Loved Co added a textural element and beautifully complemented the table scape with Velvet + Gold stationery, tableware by Table Method and linen by La Tavola and BBJ Linen - with food impeccably styled by Lyke Minded.



For the occasion, the creative team chose incredible pieces from Katarina Grey. "We matched bridal separates with rings by Kasia Jewelry, to create a uniquely modern as well as refined look perfect for a coastal city setting. Page Beauty kept hair and makeup natural and elegant." The sophisticated, dark suit by The Black Tux perfectly complemented the bridal separates and modern styling elements of this Californian editorial.





































Photography: Alex Mari @alexmari_ | Planning + Design: Moon Velvet @moonvelvet.design | Venue: Santa Monica Proper Hotel @santamonicaproper | Florist: The Loved Co @thelovedco | Hair and Makeup: Page Beauty @pagebeauty | Dress + Accessories: Katarina Grey @katarinagrey | Rings: Kasia Jewelry @kasiajewelry | Tabletop: Table Method @tablemethod | Linen: La Tavola / BBJ Linen @latavolalinen @bbjlinen | Stationery: Velvet + Gold @velvetandgold | Provision Styling: Lyke Minded @lyke_minded | Men's Suit: The Black Tux @theblacktux | Couple: Abigail and Merritt @abigail.paris @merritt.is.here